Lab 6/7 – My Own Open Source Project

Getting Familiar With Python

I decided to use python for my File info tool repository as I’ve always been meaning to learn the language. After even a small amount of time working with it I can already understand why so many people like it. The syntax is simple and quick and the standard libraries are useful and numerous allowing you to focus on the task at hand. I found a few examples online for the code I needed to start my repository but I ended up using them as a guideline since they didn’t do exactly what I needed them to do. After a few hours looking up syntax and language conventions I can already say that I too am a python fan!

Contributing

I chose to contribute to another project that used a language I wasn’t familiar with, namely Go. After setting up my environment and taking a few hours to learn proper syntax along with the ins and outs of the language, I felt comfortable enough to write a function that returns the size of a file in bytes to satisfy an issue on Joshua Longhi’s repo. In return, he also contributed to my project to satisfy an issue that I had filed. It was interesting being seeing the process in action for my own repository. Filing an issue, having someone come along and claim it and then a few hours later having a new piece of completed code to add to the project.

Git vs. Github Desktop

During the whole process of contributing I learned a lot about using git and getting myself more comfortable with the git workflow. Now when I use git I’ve noticed I’m considerably faster and more confident in what I’m doing rather than constantly referring to guides and the git --help command. I used to rely on the Github desktop app for using git but I now find that I enjoy using git in the command line much more than I ever liked using the app.

Leave a comment